Follow Ups | Post Followup | Back to Discussion Board | VegSource
See spam or
inappropriate posts?
Please let us know.

From: Rachel (
Subject: Re: Non-meat foods with animal used...
Date: January 30, 2003 at 9:33 am PST

In Reply to: Non-meat foods with animal used... posted by Vicious Seedling on January 28, 2003 at 4:25 pm:

There are ingredients to watch out for...there's a pretty good list on

You're probably thinking about gelatin. It is commonly used in mints, candies, puddings, and salad dressings. It's made of skin and connective tissue. Bleah.

Oh, and the dairy thing...Most cheese is made with enzymes (often rennet) derived from the lining of animal stomachs or the gastric juices found there. Even kosher cheese may be made this way. There are some companies that make cheese without animal enzymes, but you have to look for them.

Good luck!

Follow Ups:

Post a Followup

E-mail: (optional)


Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL: