New Vegetarian TV Series To Combat Obesity!

Hollywood, CA. VegTV, America’s first Vegan TV series linked to an Internet-based health movement, premieres Wednesday, April 21st at 11 a.m. Eastern/ 8 a.m. Pacific on the Healthy Living Channel.

Obesity is skyrocketing and may soon surpass smoking as the nation’s top preventable killer. The US Surgeon General is begging Americans to eat more fruits and vegetables. VegTV is specifically designed to help Americans switch to a healthier diet, to reduce the risk of cancer, heart disease, diabetes and a host of obesity-related illnesses.

On VegTV, award-winning TV news journalist Jane Velez-Mitchell teams with best-selling cookbook author and nutrition expert Marie Oser to whip up delicious meals that are very low-fat, rich in fiber, and completely cholesterol-free. TV and movie stars, from Alicia Silverstone to James Cromwell, tell viewers why they have already made the switch to the vegetable-based diet.

VegTV uses only fruits, veggies, nuts, grains and legumes, with an emphasis on soy, in the kitchen. Our recipes are totally free of meat, fish, eggs, dairy, and processed sugar. The result is a real alternative for consumers who want to throw fad diets out the window forever and get fit and healthy without sacrificing taste.

VegTV’s sponsors are leaders in the fast-growing world of healthy foods with mainstream appeal. They include: Dole Foods, Vegetarian Times, Kitchens Best, Gardenburger, Billington’s Unrefined Sugar, Melissa’s, I.M. Healthy Soynut Butter, Cedarlane Natural Foods, Tribest Corporation, Solterra Studios, AFM Safecoat Paints, Naked Juice, Sur La Table, and Chambers Family Farms, among others.

VegTV makes healthy eating delicious without lots of fat, saturated fat or cholesterol, creating traditional style meals with easy-to-use and widely available alternatives. Our studio audience puts them to the taste test. From lasagna, burgers, and nachos, to ribs, fondue, and fabulous desserts…all made entirely with wholesome vegetables, grains, legumes, and fruit, and without a drop of cream, lard, beef stock or white sugar. Viewers can download recipes, watch streaming videos, participate in on-line discussions and find all the products needed to switch to a healthier lifestyle on VegTV.com.,hosted by Vegsource media metrix rated the #1 internet food site.

VegTv airs every Wednesday at 11am Eastern/10am Central/9am Mountain and 8am Pacific on Healthy Living Channel available on Echostr’s Dish Network Channel 223 and cable systems around the country. The hosts of this show are also its executive producers and are available for interviews.