Weight Loss
VegSource TV
All Articles

Custom Search


In the Vegetarian & Vegan News...
   Jeff Nelson | VegSource Interactive, Inc.

Twinlab Vitamins: Deceit in a Bottle
editorial by Jeff Nelson
President VegSource Interactive, Inc.

August 10, 2001

Although our B-12 levels have always been normal (we've used soy- and ricemilks fortified with B-12 and other vitamins), in recent years our family began taking occasional B-12 supplements just for good measure.

The brand we purchased was Twinlab, a sub-lingual B-12 supplement sold at a local vegetarian store and touting that they contain only cobalamin (pure B-12) and "natural cherry flavor." This is the sum total of the ingredients list.


Although I was told by the store where we bought them that these were vegan, we recently heard that Twinlab uses gelatin in their B-12 tablets, and Twinlab confirmed it today that their B-12 contains animal products.

Obviously, we are no longer going to use Twinlab B-12 or ANY Twinlab products, and we urge all vegetarians to boycott this misleading company.

Vegetarians and vegans live by looking at labels, and when you have a company like Twinlab which is lying on their labels (and leaving out ingredients IS lying in my opinion), you know they can't be trusted.

People who are taking Twinlab B-12 are taking it for their health. If Twinlab disclosed the ingredients of their vitamins on their labels, many people would NOT take them, would NOT buy them -- out of the very same concern for their health.

Twinlab deserves to be punished by a class action suit for their lack of full disclosure.

Anyone who believes they have been deceived by Twinlab, we have set up a special discussion board for people to talk, and perhaps we can generate momentum to put this company -- which may be breaking labeling laws -- out of business.

A company whose vitamin B-12 products *can* be trusted is Solaray, which vegan expert Joanne Stepaniak recommends.

You can write to Twinlab at Product@twinlab.com and let them know how you feel.


One of our guests has researched the issue and found that the FDA requires that vitamin makers list ingredients, specifically using "gelatin" as an example!

From http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/qa-sup8.html --

Q. "Must all ingredients be declared on the label of a dietary supplement?

A. "Yes, ingredients not listed on the "Supplement Facts" panel must be listed in the "other ingredient" statement beneath the panel. The types of ingredients listed there could include the source of dietary ingredients, if not identified in the "Supplement Facts" panel (e.g., rose hips as the source of vitamin C), other food ingredients (e.g., water and sugar), and technical additives or processing aids (e.g., gelatin, starch, colors, stabilizers, preservatives, and flavors). For more details, see: http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~lrd/fr97923a.html."

Looks like it's time to bring a class action suit against Twinlab for violating this FDA rule and duping many vegans and vegetarians into eating cows' hooves.

8/15/01 -- Friend and owner of Vegan.com Erik Marcus suggested writing a letter to FDA complaining of Twinlab's actions. Read that letter Erik and we sent. (requires free Acrobat reader)

Boycott Twinlabs Discussion Board
Please indicate if you wish to join in a class action suit





Want to see more videos? Subscribe to VegSource!

Every time we post a new video, we'll send you a notice by e-mail.

No spam ever and you can easily unsubscribe at anytime.

Enter your email address, your first name, and press Submit.

Your Email:
First Name:
Newsletter archive




Past Articles

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to VegSource.

Every time we post a new video, we'll send you a notice by e-mail.

Enter your email address, your first name, and press Submit.

No spam ever and you can easily unsubscribe at anytime.  

Your Email:

Your First Name:

Newsletter archive
Legacy Films